11/05/12 Shop Update, merino/yak fiber spotlight and the Sanibel Stoop colorway inspiration story

Hi everybody! Here is tonight’s shop update preview. It goes live at 8pmET.

11/05/12 Shop Update Mosaic

As often as I can, I’m going to attempt to take one item out of each update, and either explain why that item is unique, or talk about how I came up with its colorway. This update, I’m going to attempt to do both! ๐Ÿ˜€

 

Merino/Yak Roving in the colorway “Sanibel Stoop”

I am absolutely crazy about this roving type, and if you haven’t tried it you really should! It is a lovely blend of 50% merino/50% yak down, and is the natural grayish-brown that you see peeking out in some spots in the picture. When I dye this roving, I am particularly careful not to cover up all of the natural beauty of the roving, and I am also exceptionally careful not to get the water too hot as it can make it sticky and unpleasant to draft. (and with it being as expensive as it is, TRUST ME, I pay special attention when dyeing this fiber!!) It is a delight to spin, and wants to spin pretty thin. I wouldn’t necessarily recommend it for beginners because it is rather short-stapled, but if you have a bit of spinning experience under your belt, it is a nice affordable luxury. In my shop, this particular fiber is $28/4oz (between 112g-117g per braid).
Now, for the colorway inspiration. As many of you know, my husband and I got married in April of this year, and for our honeymoon we went to Sanibel Island in Florida. We had actually been there on vacation several years ago and enjoyed it, so it seemed a natural choice for our first vacation as husband and wife. While there, we spent a lot of time on the beach looking for shells. If you have been to the beach before I’m sure you’ve looked for shells too, but you need to understand: at Sanibel, shelling is SRS BSNSS. People (including C and myself) get up with the sun and get down to the beach to find the most beautiful specimens. The “trash line” is where you find the real treasures, tangled up in the flotsam that washes up after a good storm or tidal change.

Sanibel trash line

There are huge drifts of seashells…

Large “shell drift”

And sometimes you get to see the most extraordinary sight: people, as far as the eye can see, doing the “Sanibel Stoop” digging through these shell drifts, looking for the rarest treasures. On the second day of our honeymoon there blew up a rather ferocious storm, and the shelling was indeed spectacular. What caught my eye the most, though, was not the shells… it was this one particular woman’s brightly flowered pants. She was a brave lady to bend over “in front of God and everybody” in those pants… I think you probably can figure out why. But seeing her digging through “shelldrifts” looking for that perfect shell, in her cheerful (read: eye-searing) flowered pants is a picture that I’ll probably keep in my mind’s eye til I depart this earth, and will always make me chuckle.

And that, my dears, is what inspired Sanibel Stoop.

Do you have a favorite colorway that you’d like to hear the story behind? Please feel free to leave me a comment, and I’ll do my best to accommodate you the next time that colorway goes up in an update! ๐Ÿ™‚

Thanks for reading, and for supporting my shop!

XO-

Dana

3 thoughts on “11/05/12 Shop Update, merino/yak fiber spotlight and the Sanibel Stoop colorway inspiration story

  1. Dana,
    I always look forward to your updates, I think you have some of the most beautiful colorways available in your etsey shop. I am not a pink person and no one I knit for is a pink person so I really appreciate your selection of “non-Pink” offerings. Your fiber preparation is wonderful also. I listen to you and Brittany all the time. You are a very kind and generous person, you always give your fellow fiber artists a lot of praise.

    BubbeMagoo

  2. Thanks for sharing the story behind the colorway – not exactly the romantic scene I had in my head, but it made me laugh!

    This is my favorite colorway in my favorite fiber I’ve purchased from you yet!

    Folks, when she says it’s soft, she really means it!!

Leave a Reply

