11/8/12 Shop Update, Voyage Aran spotlight, and some musings

Hey friends! Here is today’s shop update preview. It goes live at 2pmET (normal Thursday update time).

11-8-12 Shop Update

Once again, while getting this update put together, I found more of my Halloween fiber (this time on Transylvania Tramp on Polwarth!) and am listing it in the SALE section of the shop for 25% off. This will probably be the last of it until next Halloween, unless I manage to unearth another braid or skein in my SAFF stock as I continue to move it into shop stock.

Today I am starting the practice dyeing for my November installment of the 2 Crafty Girls yarn club I do with my buddy, ponkie (aka Another Crafty Girl). The theme for this round is “Kevin Bacon Movie Night”, and I have a really fantastic idea and can’t wait to see how it comes out! It is a bit out of my normal comfort zone but I’ve been trying to branch out a bit lately, and I think it’s been pretty successful so far. 🙂

While doing the practice dyeing for the club, I’m also taking the opportunity to test dye some new prospective yarns for the shop. I am evaluating a trio of DK weight yarns, and I hope to pick one to debut by the end of the month, and will hopefully be debuting a sportweight in December (have not made up my mind on which one I want of those, either). For the longest time I’ve only done fingering/sock weight yarn, but I’ve started to see a trend amongst smaller indies like myself toward having heavier weights available in our dye lines, and so far it seems to be catching on with the knitting public at large. I hope the trend continues, and that it is a success in my shop, because there’s something so much fun about dyeing large lots of heavier weight yarns for larger projects! I already plan to make a sweater for myself out of whatever DK weight I choose, and I’ve recently become addicted to knitting sportweight socks so I’m sure there are a lot of those in my future as well.

Speaking of new weights, have you seen my new Aran weight base? It is called Voyage Aran and it is just so luscious! It is a nice round 3ply yarn in a wonderful squishy 100% British bluefaced leicester wool. If you enjoy making felted soakers, this yarn is DEFINITELY one you want to take a look at. It’s also great for accessory projects, and I could definitely see knitting a sweater out of it. There are several skeins of this yarn going up in today’s update: one skein in Abalone (the last of a dyelot, I’m afraid) and 4 skeins of Sakura. Since each skein is 181yds/100g, a skein will easily make a hat (or two!), and the four skeins of Sakura would make a great vest or accessory set! Here are larger pictures of the two colorways of Voyage that are going up today. (click the picture to see more detail!)

“Sakura” Voyage Aran (4 skeins available)

“Abalone” Voyage Aran (1 skein avaiable)

I actually knit a hat with one of the skeins of Abalone from the same dyelot pictured, and it is SO much fun. All I have is my horrible cell phone picture from my Ravelry project page, so forgive the quality.

“Gehry” Hat

I used 1/2 skein of Voyage Aran and the Gehry pattern from Ravelry and size US9 & 10.5 needles. Love it!

Well I guess that’s all for me today. I hope you guys enjoy the update, and as always, thanks for reading!

XO-

Dana

One thought on “11/8/12 Shop Update, Voyage Aran spotlight, and some musings

  1. Hey! I think I unsubscribed to your blog after months of no updates. So glad you’re back and up to your ears in yarn. How is married life? I saw some of your wedding pics and you looked so happy. Congrats!

Leave a Reply

