11/12/12 Shop Update, Spotlight on Sock Yarn Minis, and Some Minis Project Ideas!

Hello everyone! Once again, it’s time for the Monday night shop update preview! Here are the goodies that are going up tonight at 8pmET over in the shop

November 12, 2012 Shop Update

 

For this entry’s product highlight, I thought I’d talk a little about Sock Yarn Mini Sets.

Sock Yarn Minis Set 51, going up in tonight’s shop update!

These sets are made up of miniskeins of 30 or so yards of fingering weight yarn- 7 miniskeins to a set for a total of approximately 210 yards. Some of these skeins are made from some of my own handdyed yarns, but most of them are from leftovers from my own stash. All of the minis that I include in a set are superwash wool, and most have nylon content. Some of the uses for these minis are the extremely popular Beekeeper’s Quilt by Tiny Owl Knits, the Mini Mania Scarf by Sarah Core, and the blanket that started it all: Sock Yarn Mini Blanket by Shelly Kang. At one point I had started the Sock Yarn Mini Blanket, but lost interest over the years… the idea of a project that takes me that long to complete just really doesn’t work for me! (I’m an impatient knitter- ask any of my knitting friends!) Lately, however, I’ve started a scarf out of some sock yarn scraps, and it’s quite exciting.

My Scrap Sock Yarn Scarf

For this scarf, I just provisionally cast on about the same number of stitches I’d use for a sock leg, and knit in the round for a while, then take out the provisional cast on out and graft the end together. Then I just knit as many rows as I feel like with a particular yarn, then cut and start a new color. My only rules are that colors that are too similar can’t be next to each other, and that the glittery yarns need to be spaced at least 3” apart. Also, since I’m working on DPNs, I don’t cut the yarns and rejoin between the same needles every time; I try to stagger that so I don’t have my jogs all in the same place. I don’t weave in my ends either… I overhand knot them together at least 3 times, then trim them to about 1″ and keep on knitting. Since the scarf is a tube, the ends will never be visible! I plan to knit this scarf til I get tired of it (or until it’s about 7′ long, whichever comes first), then kitchener graft the end together and call it done. I think it’s going to be a lot of fun, and it will function as a sort of memory quilt: whenever I look at a particular section, it reminds me of what was going on when I was knitting it, the project the original yarn was used in, or the friend that gave those scraps to me. It’s the sock yarn scarf version of a memory quilt! πŸ™‚ If you’d like to see my project page over on Ravelry, you can check it out here.

Anyways, I think it’s an excellent use for scrap sock yarn, and would be a great use for my Sock Yarn Minis Sets that I carry in the shop!

 

I also wanted to let y’all know that I have a HUGE shop update planned for the night of Thanksgiving, right around midnight! It will be at least 40-50 listings, and will have a little bit of every single product that I carry represented in it. I’ll also be offering a special deal just for blog readers, Plurk followers, and listeners of my podcast… so be sure to stay in touch between now and then, so you can find out all about that update and the special! πŸ™‚ I’ll be posting more about it in the coming days.

 

Stay warm, and thanks in advance for your support of my shop!

XO-

Dana

Leave a Reply

